Daily Questions:
What I learned
1) Four different types of "alphabets" in Japanese (it's actually syllabaries but I'll call it alphabets since it is more associated with English, association is key).
BTW my source for learning Japanese is TextFugu.com. It's wonderful and I telling you so if you already knew about textfugu then you wouldn't think I'm plagiarizing so this will act as my citation of my source ;). CHECK IT OUT. I HIGHLY recommend TextFugu.
2) Four types: Kanji, Hiragana, Katakana, Romaji (and from my own research of scholarly articles I decided to list them according to how they came to existence, I'll teach about my knowledge from other sources at the end of the post; where I try to teach you what I was taught :))
BTW romaji is evil (not just because textfugu says it, which it does) because it causes many pronunciation issues (an example being the sound of the roman letter "R"), therefore I won't cover it in the Teaching section below. Just know romaji is the writing of Japanese words with the use of roman letters (A, B, C, D....etc.) instead of Japanese Characters.
Teaching time with Mr. Raf
Hello class, I'm sorry to say that I am your teacher today, Mr. Ando got lost in the woods and couldn't make it to class so I am taking his place....forever.
Japanese consists of three amazing alphabets (syllabaries) and one turd that just lays there (romaji). The three majestic and incredibly interesting alphabets (syllabaries) include the great and older than the process of walking, Kanji, the sexy and smooth Hiragana, and the exotic and multicultural Katakana (I hope you get why I chose the descriptions).
KANJI
*Kanji originates from the big piece of land we call Zhōngguó......or China. The Japanese gained access to it as a gift from the King of Paikche (from Korea) around the year 400 (Japan rescued them in 391 and then received the gift a couple years later). The gift included many language scholars with books consisting of Kanji.
Kanji is a HUGE part of Japanese, but today's Japanese Kanji is actually not very much alike the Chinese Kanji (modern) because Kanji in China has gone through hundreds of years of development while the Japanese Kanji has actually stayed mostly the same. This means today's Kanji in Japan is more like China's Kanji a couple hundred years compare to modern Kanji vs past Kanji.
*source: "The Japanese Writing System" by Matthew White
INTERESTING....(I'm actually really fascinated by this.
.jpg) |
| Google Images |
HIRAGANA
Hiragana came after the introduction of Kanji in Japan. During the period in which Kanji was first being taught in Japan only men would be known to be learning it. But Kanji was an extremely difficult system to learn (as it still is today). It was so difficult that when women actually began learning it they formed a new, more smooth and easy way of writing it, which was first called "Onnade" or "woman's hand (translated)" which is now known as Hiragana.
.jpg) |
| Google images |
But men found Hiragana to be to easy and "womanly" to consider learning it and excused themselves from it by saying that Kanji is for smart people since it is so difficult. But, as with anything, as time passed Hiragana became very relevant to the Japanese culture and is now considered one of the three great "alphabets" of Japanese, excluding the turd, romaji.
KATAKANA
Katakana was simply created to introduce foreign words like names into the Japanese language. Katakana is also the main system of writing for scientific writings in Japanese. Words that represented "sound, movements, or animal noises" are also written in Katakana (the Japanese use a LOT of onomatopoeia in everyday communication.)
SUMMARY
Four different systems of "alphabet" in Japanese: Kanji, Hiragana, Katakana, and worthless and ugly romaji (seriously, it does). Kanji represents the backbone of Japanese, while Hiragana is the most used syllabary in the Japanese language today. Katakana is used to introduce foreign words into the Japanese language as well as being a key part of the scientific community and a main part of writing down emotions and feelings.
CONCLUSION
Romaji sucks, I recommend textfugu greatly, and the Japanese have really fun and colorful pictures on google.
Hope you enjoyed it. Stay toned for the next episode of drag......Japanese with Raf.